Attorney For Hit And Run
Texas Hit And Run Lawyer
Hit And Run Houston
Texas law requires drivers to stay on the scene of a car accident they are involved in and exchange information. But sometimes drivers speed off after an accident. This is what is referred to as a hit-and-run.
You need to talk to an experienced hit and run attorney if a driver that hit you simply leaves without sharing information.
Complications Caused By Hit And Run Accidents
Hit And Run Law Firm In TX
Victims of hit and run accidents often face difficulty getting financial compensation because the person can’t identify the driver who damaged their property. A driver may leave the scene of a crime because they do not have a driver’s license, they have an outstanding warrant of arrest, or they were driving a stolen car or some other reason.
Leaving the scene of an accident is a serious crime. Offenders face severe penalties if they leave behind injured people.
Can You Get Financial Compensation After A Hit And Run?
Lawyers For Hit And Run Cases In Texas
Individuals that carry uninsured or underinsured protection (UIM) on their insurance policy can get full compensation even if the at-fault driver has not been identified. Your hit and run attorney can also pursue your claim after the offending driver is identified.
Your hit-and-run accident attorney can help prove that the at-fault driver caused the accident if the driver is found. Your lawyer can gather evidence through accident reconstruction and testimony from people who witnessed the accident.
What To Do After A Hit And Run
Hit And Run Accident Attorneys
Drivers are expected to stop at the scene of a car accident they are involved in and share contact information and help any injured people. When a driver leaves the scene, they will be charged with a crime if they get caught. Victims of a hit and run should take the following steps after the accident:
- They should not follow the driver because the at-fault driver may be dangerous
- They should speak to people who witnessed the accident to get their contact information
- They should call 911 so that they can give the police any information that may help them track down the other driver
- They should take pictures of the scene of the crime
Contact an experienced hit and run attorney soon after the accident, so that they can start gathering evidence they can use when the other driver is found. Remember that in Texas there is a 2-year statute of limitations for hit and run accidents. That means that you only have 2 years to file a lawsuit after the at-fault driver is identified.
Hit And Run Damages
Hit And Run Victim Attorney
Since it is difficult to find the driver responsible for your accident after a hit and run, you may need to consider other ways to pay for medical bills and car repairs. People with uninsured or underinsured coverage on their insurance policy can hire lawyers to pursue maximum compensation from insurance companies.
You may also get additional compensation once the driver responsible for your accident has been found. Your lawyer can help explain your options and aggressively negotiate with an at-fault driver’s insurance company.